2011-2012 Honors Day

2011-2012 Honors Day

May 4, 2012

The following students were winners of the 2011-2012 Talent Search for Wisconsin high school students and were invited to an Honors Day program in Madison on May 4, 2012. A copy of the program follows the list of honorees.


Chamila Amithirigala: North High School
Jasper Arneberg: Chippewa Falls High School
Rylo Ashmore: Waunakee High School
Brandon Benson: Milton High School
Austin Cao: Homestead High School
Karen Chen: Bayside Middle School
Steven Fuhrman: Menomonie High School
Araminta Gwynne: Lodi Area High School
Thomas Hameister: Neenah High School
Shauna Jacob: Madison West High School
Donghyun Kim: Middleton High School
Kijung Kwak: Walden III Middle School, Racine
Willard Kwak: Walden III High School, Racine
Max Luck: Appleton West High School
Blake Nigh: Neenah High School
Joonsung Oh: Madison West High School
Samuel Owen: Muskego High School
Gregory Plumb: Middleton High School
Sohil Shah: Madison Memorial High School
Anne Ulrich: Ulrich Homeschool
Christopher Xu: Jefferson Middle School
Peter Yang: Jefferson Middle School
Wentong Zhang: Whitefish Bay High School
Shaina Zhao: Southwest High School


9:00 – 9:45: Registration and Refreshments, 911 Van Vleck Hall
9:55 – 10:45: “The Allied attack on the German Enigma cipher”, Prof. Zev Klagsbrun, UW-Mathematics Department, B215 Van Vleck Hall
11:00 – 11:50: “Math on the Big Screen: What do numbers have to do with special effects in your favorite movie”, Prof. Eftychios Sifakis, UW-Computer Science Department, B215 Van Vleck Hall
12:00 – 1:30: Luncheon and Presentation of Awards, 911 Van Vleck Hall
1:45 – 3:00: Tour: Botany Greenhouse